Warning Window Growers

I learned 2 lesson this week that I hope you’ll take and not make the same mistake! First, if you want to grow food in your window, make sure you have a screen on the window. 
My windows have screens, except for one; I took it off and put up a magnet screen so I could let the dogs out the window.  They didn’t take to it (when I lived in GA that’s what they used solely and loved it).  But I left it up. 
On a warm day, for no particular reason I pulled the screen back.  It made an upside down V in the window.  It stayed that way for a few days.  It was cloudy, so I thought nothing of it.  My lettuce started dying in the middle of one container.  I thought I had watered it and poured water too hard there.
I was so gentle from then on but it kept dying. Then I saw the pattern.  I’ve closed the screen.  The lettuce seems to be fine now. 
My only guess is that the glass magnified the sun heat.  I know that other plants must be a few feet from the window if it is closed bc of what glass does to the sun light.
So from now on, the screen will stay on, and down. 
The container with the fastened screen is taking off!
2nd lesson; make sure you have room for your roots. I had to get creative today.  I’ve built everything around the containers and I realized my green beans were outgrowing the container they were in! So for now, I cut the bottom out of an extra container I had, they were the same size as the one I was using.  Then I stacked them so that I could fill them up twice as high.  It’s not practical or pretty, but I can fix it next year.  My thing was not losing my crop this year.  I only lost one bean stalk in the transfer.
I also injured myself cutting the bottom out.  I suggest having the right tools when cutting, building, or whatever you are doing.  I usually do.  I got hasty and decided to go ahead.  Bad idea.  I won’t know until tomorrow how bad it is but my range of motion in 2 fingers is getting more difficult (when I don’t take ibuprofen) and the knot on my hand is blue so I got it good. I share to say, USE THE RIGHT TOOLS! Don’t be me.  I knew before I started I shouldn’t do it.
Well, that’s it for now.
Keep playing in the dirt!  

About lindsaygagirl

I am new to gardening and want to share my experience.

Posted on April 26, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

