Peppers in Texas

I am very excited today.  The pepper seeds I planted are growing.  But I must confess, I am not a patient “farmer” so I went to Home Depot on April 29th and bought to plants and put them in my window.  They were about a for high and green; no blooms. 
Yesterday when I went to water them I had a pepper! I was so excited but I was unsure what to do.  All the websites say no peppers before July 4th or they’ll taste bad.  Have you ever heard of someone going out and clipping all their peppers in their garden or cutting the blooms before they become fruit?
So I got to thinking, maybe if you live in cooler environments they won’t bloom.  And the advice was for indoor growers for this regions? I contacted someone in my town who has an outdoor garden WITH peppers and she said hers were fine.  So they stay! My little seedlings will do two things, one assure next year I still have peppers and two produce late in the season because they’ll just be starting to bloom. 
Check out my first pepper in media where I store all my photos.

image

About lindsaygagirl

I am new to gardening and want to share my experience.

Posted on May 7, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

